Meet Our New Team Members!

By Amber Crossen, Communications Coordinator, National Initiatives on Poverty & Economic Opportunity

4344878104_e537b0248b_b

We’ve got lots of new faces around the office this summer, and we’re excited for you to get to know our new staff. While Quintin and Carrie, our Workforce Research & Policy Fellow and Graduate Student Intern, respectively, will be with us all year, Elizabeth, Damian, and Caroline will round out our team for the summer. Read on to learn all about what the National Initiatives (NI) staff is looking forward to learning and working on in the coming months.

QUINTIN WILLIAMS | Workforce Research & Policy Fellow

Quintin
Hometown:
Chicago, IL

Currently studying at:
Loyola University Chicago. I’m a fourth year PhD Student in Sociology with an area of study in Race and Ethnicity. My work focuses on religion in public life, inequality, and mass incarceration and reentry.

What do you like to do in your free time?
: In my free time, I like cooking, eating, watching movies, playing with my son, and reading.

What are you looking forward to doing, learning, or working on most during your time with National Initiatives?: I am excited to expand my knowledge of Transitional Jobs as a mechanism to help lift people out of poverty. The work on anti-violence is also very important and personal to me.

CARRIE FELTON | Graduate Student Intern

cfelton
Currently studying at: University of Chicago, where I’m a 2018 Masters Candidate in the School of Social Service Administration.

What do you like to do in your free time?: I spend most of my free-time hanging out with my husband and two-year-old son (AKA the cutest human alive), preferably at the beach. I also enjoy the occasional yoga class and watching TV shows about superheroes.

What are you looking forward to doing, learning, or working on most during your time with National Initiatives?: Before enrolling in graduate school, I spent ten years in the social service field working directly with individuals and families experiencing poverty. During that time, I often daydreamed about ways to improve programs and policies designed to combat poverty and inequality. Now that I have the opportunity to live out my dreams, I am looking forward to integrating the knowledge and expertise of the National Initiatives Team with the lived experience of the brilliant and resilient folks I worked with in my previous position.

ELIZABETH SUN | Summer Intern

sun_elizabeth_headshot.jpg
Hometown:
Macomb, MI

Currently studying at: Harvard University, studying Social Studies with a focus in social welfare.

What do you like to do in your free time?: During my free time I enjoy cooking, traveling, painting, playing piano, seeing live performances, and shopping.

What are you looking forward to doing, learning, or working on most during your time with National Initiatives?: From my time with National Initiatives I hope to become as much of an expert as possible on Transitional Jobs, through which I believe I can gain a deep understanding of program implementation best practices and successful poverty interventions.  I am also excited to experiment with writing shorter publications, learning how to construe issues through an advocacy lens, and visit the sites of on-the-ground operations.

DAMIAN RICHARDSON | Summer Intern

Headshot

Hometown: Oak Park, IL

Currently studying at: Harvard College. My area of study is Social Studies, with an interdisciplinary concentration in the social sciences—I’ll be combining government, sociology, and psychology.

What do you like to do in your free time?: Follow DC news, sing with the Harvard Opportunes, see as many Cubs games as possible.

What are you looking forward to doing, learning, or working on most during your time with National Initiatives?: I’m looking forward to contributing research on providing employment services in a trauma-informed context, which will help people affected by gun violence succeed in the workplace and reintegrate into society. I hope to take the lessons I learn in my time with National Initiatives back to my research at school on the comparative effects of inner-city and war zone violence. I hope to leave National Initiatives knowing that my work did something to help Chicagoans in need.

CARLOINE ARMOUR | Summer Intern

P1080792
Hometown: Ravenswood Manor, Chicago, IL.

Currently studying at: University of Michigan Ann Arbor Campus, where I’m majoring in Political Science and Economics.

What do you like to do in your free time?: In my free time, I enjoy playing with kids (yes, I actually like them), watching Law & Order SVU, baking, and trying new foods.

What are you looking forward to doing, learning, or working on most during your time with National Initiatives?: I am excited to learn even more about the ways in which the National Initiatives Team is fighting for immigrants’ rights, racial justice, and economic justice. Every day I volunteered at Heartland in January and February I learned another facet of the National Initiatives’ program to combat systemic inequity. I anticipate learning many more this summer.

I am eager to better my research skills and become more adept at identifying policy weaknesses and strengths. I hope to expand my knowledge base on social programs, so that I can use newly-learned facts and figures in future discussions on the real impact of certain legislative and executive decisions. Working at Heartland this summer is a great opportunity that will allow me to further solidify the necessary skills to becoming an effective social justice legal/policy advocate.

 

 

About National Initiatives on Poverty & Economic Opportunity

Heartland Alliance’s National Initiatives on Poverty & Economic Opportunity is dedicated to ending chronic unemployment and poverty. We believe that every person deserves the opportunity to succeed in work and support themselves and their families. Through our field building, we provide support and guidance that fosters more effective and sustainable employment efforts. Our policy and advocacy work advances solutions to the systemic issues that drive chronic unemployment.

Leave a Reply

